logo for state portal site

About the Council: Membership

Governing legislation requires that Council membership include the Governor and Lieutenant Governor, as well as eight members from the Virginia General Assembly, including Speaker of the House, the President of the Senate, chairs from both House and Senate finance committees, and the majority and minority leaders from each house. Other members include Cabinet and citizen appointments made both by legislators and the Governor.

Council Membership

Governor of Virginia and Chair

Terence R. McAuliffe

Lieutenant Governor

Ralph S. Northam

General Assembly Members

Emmett W. Hanger, Jr.
Stephen D. Newman
Thomas K. Norment, Jr.
Richard L. Saslaw

M. Kirkland "Kirk" Cox
William J. Howell
S. Chris Jones
David J. Toscano

Cabinet Members

Richard D. Brown
Paul J. Reagan

Business and Community Members

Michael J. Cassidy
The Commonwealth Institute for Fiscal Analysis

Aneesh P. Chopra
Hunch Analytics

Thomas T. Cullen
Woods Rogers PLC

C. Burke King
Anthem Blue Cross & Blue Shield

William H. Leighty

Michael D. Little
The Christian Broadcasting Network

Michael Signer
Mayor, City of Charlottesville
Madison Law & Strategy Group, PLC

Share this page:

Facebook, Twitter and other share functions via Share This widget